Finally, the winners of New Seven Wonders of the World were announced at a televised ceremony in Lisbon’s Stadium of Light on 07.07.07. In worldwide poll of 100 million online voters named the seven new wonders of the world. The Great Wall of China had the most votes, the other six new wonders are India’s Taj Mahal, Jordan’s Petra, Brazil’s statue of Christ Redeemer, Peru’s Machu Picchu, Mexico’s Chichen Itza pyramid and the Colosseum in Rome.

This seven wonders have now replaced the seven ancient wonders, six of which were destroyed due to earthquake and fires included the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the statue of Zeus at Olympia, the temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the mausoleum at Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes and the lighthouse of Alexandria. However, the Great Pyramid of Giza, the only surviving ancient wonders of the world still survives and retains its honorary status in addition to the new seven after indignant Egyptian officials said it was a disgrace they had to compete. The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World was a list compiled more than 2,000 years ago by Greek philospher Philon of Byzantium, who acted as one of the world’s first travel guides.

The Great Wall of China

India’s Taj Mahal

Colosseum in Rome

Mexico’s Chichen Itza pyramid

Peru’s Machu Picchu

Brazil’s statue of Christ Redeemer

Jordan’s Petra