What is the Old and New Seven Wonders of the world?

The official New Seven Wonders 21 finalist candidates were announced by the panel’s President, Prof. Federico Mayor, on 1st January 2006 in Zurich. These 21 New Seven Wonders finalist in the final stage of the competition now were chosen from top 77 nominees that were voted at the end of 2005.


The final round of voting for the New 7 Wonders of the World will continue until 7th July 2007. Announcement of New 7 Wonders of the World will be made on 07-07-07 during the Official Declaration ceremony in Lisbon, Portugal.

Out of the 21 finalist, only the Pyramids of Giza in Egypt selected by Philon of Byzantium in 200 B.C. still remain as Old Seven Wonders (Seven Ancient Wonders) of the World. Therefore, the New 7 Wonders Foundation designates the Pyramids of Giza as an Honorary New 7 Wonders candidate, it is exampted from election of the New 7 Wonders of the world.


The rest of the Six monuments to be remembered in perpetuity were The Lighthouse of Alexandria, The Temple of Artemis, The Statue of Zeus, The Colossus of Rhodes, The Hanging Gardens of Babylon and The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus, all had been built between 2,500 B.C. and 200 B.C.

Now the dream of the N7W initiators will become a reality as the whole world is joining to celebrate together for the New 7 Wonders of the World as chosen across the globe using vote online and vote via phone. Join the N7W Society now to support this historic project.